Techspan New Zealand reports – NZ Plastics Industry Design Awards 2014

Techspan New Zealand report on the recent New Zealand Plastics Industry 2014 Design Awards

Millennium Plastics and client, Waikato Milking Systems, win big at the Plastics Industry Biennial Design Awards.

It was the innovative Electronic Milk Meter that secured the Supreme Award. Announcement of this year’s award winners was at the gala dinner held at Ellerslie Convention Centre in Auckland on October 3rd.
The milk meter showcases innovative kiwi design through its unique ability to provide real-time data on milk production and quality. This helps farms increase long term profitability. Millennium Plastics Ltd won Gold Awards in the Primary Product and Conventional Injection Moulding Process Categories

“We are extremely honored to receive these three awards. It is great validation for our staff” Millennium Plastics General Manager Tony Rutz said.

Judges stated that the product development included substantial prototyping, innovative design and well researched material selections. Design solutions addressed not only end use but also manufacturing criteria, along with challenging mould design and construction, and precision moulding.
The awards continue to confirm the efforts and achievements for all entrants. It also provides an opportunity for organisations to further cement relationships with their clients.

“We are proud to present this major biennial event”, said Plastics NZ Business Manager Ken Sowman. “It continues to showcase the level of expertise and innovation of individual companies.  It highlights the world class capabilities of the New Zealand Plastics Industry.”

Plastics New Zealand hosted the evening in partnership with key sponsor, Competenz. Special guest for the evening was Dr Mary Quin, Chief Executive Officer of Callaghan Innovation. Dr Quin spoke on their vision to accelerate the commercialisation of innovation by firms in New Zealand.

There were many winners on the evening. The following organisations all went home with multiple awards:

  • Acma Industries Ltd
  • Adept Ltd
  • Alto Packaging Ltd
  • Axiam Plastics Ltd
  • Gallagher Group Ltd
  • Iplex Pipelines Ltd
  • Linkplas Ltd
  • Millennium Plastics Ltd
  • Styrobeck Ltd
  • Talbot Technologies Ltd

Congratulations to all the winners. We look forward to celebrating your future successes in two years.

For further information:
Please contact:  Ken Sowman, Business Manager, Plastics New Zealand, email:  or

Source: Plastics New Zealand


More images – click here